Beauty novelties: June

Hello Kitty sheet masks

I’m a huge sucker for novelty items, especially when it comes to beauty (so cool so cute homaigawd I must have dis) so I thought I’d do a monthly roundup of the silly and kooky things I waste my money on invest in. Hmm, I wonder if any month I have nothing to share here would be considered a good month?

Novelty #1: SANRIO Hello Kitty Sheet Mask in Red

Kabuki and animal masks are all the rage now, and I actually bought this in Japan last December. It was available during Tokyu Hands’ opening, but I didn’t get it as the red ‘flavour’ was sold out. Pink and purple bows are for BASIC KITTIES, you hear me??? Anyways, I got it a month later for an exorbitant price, of course. Each pack contains two sheets which look like this:

Hello Kitty Sheet Mask
I actually took selfies with my hands balled up in claws, but I decided to spare myself the Internet.

Mini review: Sheet material was cotton, quite soft and fits my face well. It has two weird eye flaps that you don’t usually see on sheet masks, but well, I guess you have to complete the Kitty face. Though it should have been coloured black, no? It is slightly perfumed. For a sheet mask, it was meh. For a Hello Kitty face printed sheet mask, it was AWESOME!

Novelty #2: Caudalíe Draining Organic Herbal Tea, $18

Caudalie Draining Tea

On hindsight, I don’t know why I spent SGD18 on this. Perhaps to hit the minimum order for Feel Unique to get my DHC mascara. Oh well. I love Caudalíe, in particular their Beauty Elixir (repurchased 3 and counting) and it’s kind of the brand I spoil myself with. I admit a big part of it is the novelty. If Dolly Wink or Mizon came out with jam or mayonnaise, I’d probably buy it too. Such is the life of a modern consumer.

A pack has 20 sachets, and each contains a blend of organic cinnamon, blueberry, red vine, sweet orange vest, and blackcurrant. Taste is not bad, but then again I’m not a huge tea person (Conscience: then WHY did you buy $20 tea?!)

Daiso brush pad

Novelty #3: Daiso Power Mat, $2

Here’s a chance to redeem myself for all that wasted monies: a hack/dupe!!!! I don’t know about you, but I HATE washing my brushes. 1) I never know if I’m doing that shit right 2) All that caked up makeup never really comes out. So I was hunting for that Sigma brush mat, where you have fancy almost-patented surfaces to swirl your brushes on. However, even to a marketing sucker like me, it was MASSIVELY overpriced at USD32. (It was also sold out everywhere.)

So while Googling for places that would ship to me, I found people using $2 Daiso magic mats as dupes! How clever. Basically these pieces of textured rubber (which, if you think about it, is exactly what that damn fancy brush mat was) hold hot pots, open stubborn jar lids and now, clean makeup brushes too. And it’s only $2!!!! I aired it for a couple of days to get rid of that horrid silicon rubbery smell and tested it out yesterday. My god, I swear I got my brushes clean in 1/4 of the time it usually takes. SO SMART #ILoveJapan

What are some of the silly novelties you’ve thrown money out on? Do they cheer you up?

One thought on “Beauty novelties: June

Leave a comment